January 6, 2006

Diving right in…

Posted in A little this at 7:54 pm by suzannewrites

True to my desire to do everything as honestly and unembellished as possible, this first post is something I published in my newsletter “Today, I remembered…” in December, 2004. I tripped over it recently and it feels oh-so-right-now.

Today, I remembered…

It’s an illusion.

Yeah, yeah this is what they all say (they being the sages, spiritual masters, the ones that “get it”). But, we humanoids so very often forget that this is true. We forget that all the anger, the “rightness” of our seemingly solid positions, our very bodies – all illusions.

All mind fabricated little stories.

Try this. Think of a recent argument or a time when you were really, REALLY pissed off. Feel it. Bring it back to “life”. Now, take a mental/soulful step back and re-look at the situation from a distance, as a cool, uninvolved spectator. See any “reality” there?
What I see as I do this is an opinion – short or long held – based on what I was focusing on at the time. Had I been in a different frame of mind, such as being willing to allow another person to be themselves in the moment, I wouldn’t have gotten mad at all.

Here’s the deal. We’re all of the same stuff, we’re all connected, we’re all here for a brief time. Let’s enjoy the illusions, enjoy enjoyment and enjoy our connections. OK?

2 Comments »

  1. hearandlearn said,

    Hello Suzanne! LOL, I must apologize when I say you sound like a 60’s pot smoker, rediscovering life through the haze! No disrespect intended. By the way, I believe the biggest illusion of all is that we are in control. While I have some blogs, I am really not a writer. All of my old English teachers will verify this fact. So don’t take it to heart if I criticize. I have a short attention span, and tend to enjoy Aheila’s and others’ drabbles more than anything else. I do want to encourage you to write though! And, if I may suggest, how about a short story written from the view point of a little girl? Just a thought! TC Don

  2. Bg sya ingin menanyakan knp bb sya wktu sya restart keluar putih bg..nSya pakai bb 8310 bg.nMohon bantuan ya bg. Come on http://tropaadet.dk/marlenehewitt9343081845


Leave a Reply

